pyjamasandtea

February 23, 2011

The “Ick” Factor

Filed under: Daily life — pyjamasandtea @ 12:38 pm
Tags: , ,

I love to have my house cleaned by professionals.  I love pedicures.  Both of these things make me feel pampered and good about myself.  Yet, I must admit, I am uncomfortable with the idea of someone else cleaning up my mess.  I am also uncomfortable with making someone touch my feet.  I think it is because I can’t see myself being able to do either job.  The “ick” factor is just too high for me.

I usually leave my house when my cleaner is there.  I feel compelled to explain to her as I leave that I am “really busy today” and I always apologize that the house is “messier than I would like it to be”.  She can’t possibly believe or care about either fumbled excuse.  I have never had the nerve to ask her whether she enjoys her job.  Perhaps there is real satisfaction in making things clean?  I love clean.  I hate making things clean.  It is a conundrum.

I never offer excuses to my pedicurist.  All the women in the shop I go to are Vietnamese and I am terrified to start a conversation with one of them because I find it hard to understand their English.  Nothing bumps up my pedicure-guilt like having to fillabuster my end of a conversation that I don’t understand.

At the moment, my house is in dire need of that clean and my toes are fire engine red.  I’m managing the angst.

1 Comment »

  1. I understand completely. All of it. I do, however, make excuses to my pedicurist. Because I apologize for everything, at all times. I also clean the house before my house cleaner comes, which is ridiculous, but since I feel so guilty having someone else clean my house, I can’t help but tidy up before she comes over. Pathetic, middle class, left-wing guilt. Pathetic.

    Comment by YYZ — March 5, 2011 @ 10:36 am | Reply


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

